Embracing our Grandmothers

A touching, relatable insight. ♥
Very moving if you also feel the generation gap.

D-tales

Poh PohI did not know my maternal grandmother well. Come to think of it, I did not know any of my grandparents well. Both my grandfathers died when I was young, and language barriers kept me from conversing with my paternal grandmother, even though she was present throughout most of my life.

My mother’s mother, Poh Poh as I would call her, came into my life in the early 90s. She followed the path set by my two uncles as they both brought their families to Canada from Hong Kong. Until that point, I had no relationship with Poh Poh, and not much of one there after.

Again, language barriers did not help. I with my broken Cantonese could barely string together a sentence and she could hardly speak a word of English. But language was not the sole barrier. She treated my brothers and I like someone else’s…

View original post 548 more words

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized Is A Category

3 responses to “Embracing our Grandmothers

  1. Pingback: In Remembrance of My Grandmother | poemattic

  2. Pingback: Five Generations of Women, Daughters, Mothers, and Grandmothers | Stories from the Heart of a Southern Woman

  3. Pingback: In Remembrance of My Grandmother | Melba Christie at Poemattic

Leave a Reply

